Illinois Concealed Carry Classes
Illinois now offers resident and non-resident concealed carry permits to law abiding citizens. Double Tap Academy, offers both 16-hour and 8-hour courses that meet the Illinois concealed carry training requirements. We do not offer a 12-hour course.
Our concealed carry courses are taught by highly skilled and deeply committed Christian business people, retired law enforcement officers, attorneys, and pastors who desire to educate and help law abiding citizens. Our courses provide heavy emphasis on firearms safety, firearms marksmanship, state and federal law, and answering our clients' questions. Our classes are packed with information and exercises to build skills, confidence, and knowledge.
Our 16-hour course is intended for law-abiding citizens who want to better understand firearms safety, firearm and holster selection, safe storage, legal aspects, self-defense planning, and marksmanship skills associated with carrying and possessing a defensive firearm. This course is $175.
Our 8-hour course is intended for clients who have already completed a qualifying course (NRA Basic, NRA Personal Protection Inside the Home, possess a DD214, etc.) and just needs to complete the last 8 hours of training. Many of our clients choose to take our 16-hour course even though they already have completed their initial class. The 8-hour course is $125.
Goto our Calendar to find available dates and register.
In accordance with Section 30 of the Illinois Concealed Carry Act, an applicant must:
- be at least 21 years of age;
- hold a current and valid Firearm Owner's Identification (FOID) card;
- not be prohibited under the FOID Act or federal law from possessing or receiving a firearm;
- not have been convicted or found guilty in this State or in any other state of:
- a misdemeanor involving the use or threat of physical force or violence to any person within the 5 years preceding the date of the license application; or
- 2 or more violations related to driving while under the influence of alcohol, or other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof, within the 5 years preceding the date of the license application; and
- not be the subject of a pending arrest warrant, prosecution, or proceeding for any offense or action that could lead to disqualification to won or possess a firearm;
- not have been in residential or court-ordered treatment for alcoholism, alcohol detoxification, or drug treatment within the 5 years immediately preceding the date of the license application; and
- complete firearms training and any education component required under Section 75 of the Act.
Illinois Permit Applicant must submit:
- an online Application is available on the Illinois State Police website
- their valid driver's license number or valid state identification card number.
- a full set of fingerprints (optional) submitted to the Department in electronic format. A list of Livescan locations can be found HERE.
- a head and shoulder color photograph in a size specified by the Department taken within the 30 days preceding the date of the license application; and a photocopy of any certificates or other evidence of compliance with the training requirements under the Act.
- $150 (Illinois residence) or $300 (non-residence)
No later than 90 days after the receipt of a completed application, the Department shall issue or deny the applicant a license. The License shall be valid for 5 years.